The Soul Detectives 1998 - 2003

In 1998 a two piece brass section was added. This comprised of Darren Parker on sax and Johnny Tait on trumpet. Later the same year Matthew 'Mitch' Mitchinson replaced Chris on Keyboards and also Grant Jones replaced Johnny Tait on Trumpet.

Mitch stayed with the band for only a few months. Chris rejoined the line-up the following year until a permanent replacement could be found. This keyboard position was eventually filled by Dave Unwin.

In March 2000 the band began work on their second album "When You're Ready..".

In 2001 the band worked with Cult record producer Russell Writer on a version of the Theme from Peter Gunn, as featured in the film "The Blues Brothers". This session also featured Tony Hawkins who temporarily replaced Grant Jones on Trumpet. The track was eventually featured on the album "Cult Themes from the 80's", released through Future Legend Records. Although it failed to become a hit the album did result in Russell being nominated for a prestigious Record Producer of the Year award. Later the same year the band added two female backing vocalists, Maria Sewell-Jones and Lianna Williams. Lianna was soon replaced by Hayley Byrne.

In 2002 Glyn Sweeting joined them on Trumpet. The summer saw the release of their tenth anniversary live album "Carry on RIGArdless" which was recorded at the Riga Music Bar in Westcliff-on-Sea. Later the same year, backing singers Hayley and Maria departed from the band.

In 2003 vocalist Tina Stevens joined the line-up providing backing vocals and shared lead vocals with Darren Davis. This same year the band performed two high profile support slots with The Commitments and The Drifters. Later on trumpeter Glyn Sweeting was replaced by Tony Hawkins who joined again on a full time basis.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer